Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

SmartSat / Australian National Concurrent Design Facility workshop

July 27 - 2:00 pm - 3:30 pm

This webinar will present the capabilities of the ANCDF and demonstrate a range of example space engineering studies.

With: Prof. Russell Boyce, Director, UNSW Canberra Space and Jan-Christian Meyer, ANCDF Manager

The Australian National Concurrent Design Facility (ANCDF), the only such facility in Australia, is an example of world-best-practice in applying concurrent engineering approaches to rapidly develop feasible space mission concepts that meet user requirements.

Australia’s CDF, operated by UNSW Canberra Space, is a tool to accelerate and improve mission concept definition via concurrent collaboration between space engineering experts and space mission customers. The ANCDF was developed with the support of the French Space Agency CNES, combined with first-hand experience by UNSW Canberra Space personnel in similar facilities in the European space industry. However, it has a special focus on New Space and the Australian space sector, puts significant emphasis on customer integration, and makes implementation cost and schedule integral parts of the feasibility study outputs.

This webinar will present the capabilities of the ANCDF and demonstrate different ways in which anyone can use it ranging from “teaser studies”, to comprehensively planned and facilitated workshops with optional expert support provided by UNSW Canberra Space, to STEM-focussed educational opportunities. A range of example studies that have been performed over the past two years will be presented to highlight the different possibilities.

The webinar will also address current state-of-the-art research questions related to concurrent engineering, which in turn forms part of the digital twin paradigm currently gathering momentum in Australia and across the globe.

The session will also include an update on SmartSat CRC and future initiatives from CEO Prof. Andy Koronios and Chief Research Officer Dr. Nick Stacy.